Login       My Wishlist
  My Cart
$0.00 / 0 items
 
Jen Blood
Dedicated to Discovering Great Fiction
 
International Access
Global Shipping Options Available
  Our Catalog   Genre Fiction   Historical Fiction   Biographical

Coming Through Slaughter


Super Savings Item! Save 36% on the Coming Through Slaughter by Ondaatje, Michael at Jen Blood. SKU: 9780679767855. MPN: 9780679767855. Hurry! Limited time offer. Offer valid only while supplies last. Bringing to life the fabulous, colorful panorama of New Orleans in the first flush of the jazz era, this book tells the story of Buddy Bolden, the


Product Description

Bringing to life the fabulous, colorful panorama of New Orleans in the first flush of the jazz era, this book tells the story of Buddy Bolden, the first of the great trumpet players--some say the originator of jazz--who was, in any case, the genius, the guiding spirit, and the king of that time and place.

In this fictionalized meditation, Bolden, an unrecorded father of Jazz, remains throughout a tantalizingly ungraspable phantom, the central mysteries of his life, his art, and his madness remaining felt but never quite pinned down. Ondaatje's prose is at times startlingly lyrical, and as he chases Bolden through documents and scenes, the novel partakes of the very best sort of modern detective novel--one where the enigma is never resolved, but allowed to manifest in its fullness. Though more 'experimental' in form than either The English Patient or In the Skin of a Lion, it is a fitting addition to the renowned Ondaatje oeuvre.

Additional Information

Manufacturer:Vintage
Brand:Ondaatje, Michael
Part Number:9780679767855
Publisher:Vintage
Studio:Vintage
MPN:9780679767855
SKU:9780679767855
EAN:9780679767855
Item Weight:0.25 pounds
Item Size:0.42 x 8.02 x 8.02 inches
Package Weight:0.25 pounds
Package Size:5.8 x 0.5 x 0.5 inches

Coming Through Slaughter by Ondaatje, Michael

Buy Now:
Coming Through Slaughter

Brand: Ondaatje, Michael
SKU: #9780679767855
4.9 out of 5 stars with 20 reviews
Condition: New
Lead Time: 1 - 2 Business Days
Availability: In Stock
$15.00
$9.74
You Save: 35%


Quantity:  

 


View More In Biographical.

 


Have questions about this item, or would like to inquire about a custom or bulk order?


If you have any questions about this product by Ondaatje, Michael, contact us by completing and submitting the form below. If you are looking for a specif part number, please include it with your message.

First Name:
Last Last:
Email Address:
Your Message:

Related Best Sellers


By Penguin Classics
ean: 9780140442823, isbn: 0140442820,
Born at the height of the Heian period, the pseudonymous Lady Sarashina reveals much about the Japanese literary tradition in this haunting self-portrait. Born in 1008, Lady Sarashina was a lady-in-waiting of Heian-period Japan. Her work stands out f...

By Harper Perennial
mpn: 29927080, ean: 9780062009302, isbn: 0062009303,
"Magical." -Washington Post Book World"The best dramatization of a great thinker’s thought since Sartre’s The Freud Scenario." -Chicago TribuneFrom renowned psychiatrist Irvin D. Yalom, acclaimed author of The Schopenhauer Cure and Love’s Execu...

By Ignatius Press
ean: 9780898702682, isbn: 0898702682,
Very few people know that Mark Twain (Samuel Clemens) wrote a major work on Joan of Arc. Still fewer know that he considered it not only his most important but also his best work. He spent twelve years in research and many months in France doing arch...

By Farrar Straus Giroux
mpn: 9780374529260, ean: 9780374529260, isbn: 0374529264,
Both an exploration of character and a reflection on the meaning of history, Memoirs of Hadrian has received international acclaim since its first publication in France in 1951. In it, Marguerite Yourcenar reimagines the Emperor Hadrian's arduous boy...

By Blackstone Publishing
ean: 9781455137114, isbn: 1455137111,
An incredible story of dangerous and hidden friendships, ambition, betrayal, and sacrifice. The year is 1739. Eliza Lucas is sixteen years old when her father leaves her in charge of their family's three plantations in rural South Carolina and then p...

By Ballantine Books
ean: 9780399177668, isbn: 0399177663,
For readers of Paula McLain, Nancy Horan, and Melanie Benjamin, this captivating novel is inspired by a little-known interlude in the artist’s life.“A tasty blend of romance, mystery, and French cooking.”—Margaret Atwood, via Twitter The Fren...

By Ballantine Books
ean: 9780345434074, isbn: 0345434072,
"To quietly persevere in storing up what is learned, to continue studying without respite, to instruct others without growing weary--is this not me?"--ConfuciusConfucius is recognized as China's first and greatest teacher, and his ideas have been the...

By Random House Trade
ean: 9780812981865, isbn: 0812981863,
NATIONAL BESTSELLER • In a dazzling work of historical fiction in the vein of Nancy Horan’s Loving Frank, Dawn Tripp brings to life Georgia O’Keeffe, her love affair with photographer Alfred Stieglitz, and her quest to become an independent art...

By Vintage Books
ean: 9780375727061, isbn: 037572706X,
The remarkable bestseller about the fourth-century Roman emperor who famously tried to halt the spread of Christianity, Julian is widely regarded as one of Gore Vidal’s finest historical novels.Julian the Apostate, nephew of Constantine the Great, ...

By Penguin Books
mpn: 34554684, ean: 9780143106692, isbn: 0143106694,
The Nobel Prize–nominated Kenyan writer’s powerful first novelTwo brothers, Njoroge and Kamau, stand on a garbage heap and look into their futures: Njoroge is to attend school, while Kamau will train to be a carpenter. But this is Kenya, and the...



Privacy Policy / Terms of Service
© 2018 - jenblood.net. All Rights Reserved.