Login       My Wishlist
  My Cart
$0.00 / 0 items
 
Jen Blood
Dedicated to Discovering Great Fiction
 
International Access
Global Shipping Options Available
  Our Catalog   Genre Fiction   Horror   British & Irish

Hollywood Gothic: The Tangled Web of Dracula from Novel to Stage to Screen


Extreame Savings Item! Save 45% on the Hollywood Gothic: The Tangled Web of Dracula from Novel to Stage to Screen by Brand: Faber n Faber at Jen Blood. MPN: Illustrated. Hurry! Limited time offer. Offer valid only while supplies last. The primal image of the black-caped vampire Dracula has become an indelible fixture of the modern imagination. It's recognition factor rivals, in its


Product Description

The primal image of the black-caped vampire Dracula has become an indelible fixture of the modern imagination. It's recognition factor rivals, in its own perverse way, the familiarity of Santa Claus. Most of us can recite without prompting the salient characteristics of the vampire: sleeping by day in its coffin, rising at dusk to feed on the blood of the living; the ability to shapeshift into a bat, wolf, or mist; a mortal vulnerability to a wooden stake through the heart or a shaft of sunlight. In this critically acclaimed excursion through the life of a cultural icon, David Skal maps out the archetypal vampire's relentless trajectory from Victorian literary oddity to movie idol to cultural commidity, digging through the populist veneer to reveal what the prince of darkness says about us all.

Additional Information

Manufacturer:Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Brand:Brand: Faber n Faber
Part Number:Illustrated
Publisher:Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Studio:Farrar, Straus and Giroux
MPN:Illustrated
EAN:9780571211586
Item Weight:1.07 pounds
Item Size:0.86 x 8.5 x 8.5 inches
Package Weight:1.27 pounds
Package Size:5.5 x 0.98 x 0.98 inches

Hollywood Gothic: The Tangled Web of Dracula from Novel to Stage to Screen by Brand: Faber n Faber

Buy Now:
Hollywood Gothic: The Tangled Web of Dracula from Novel to Stage to Screen

Brand: Brand: Faber n Faber
4.1 out of 5 stars with 32 reviews
Condition: New
Lead Time: 1 - 2 Business Days
Availability: In Stock
$18.00
$9.95
You Save: 45%


Quantity:  

 


View More In British & Irish.

 


Have questions about this item, or would like to inquire about a custom or bulk order?


If you have any questions about this product by Brand: Faber n Faber, contact us by completing and submitting the form below. If you are looking for a specif part number, please include it with your message.

First Name:
Last Last:
Email Address:
Your Message:

Related Best Sellers


By Harper Perennial
ean: 9780061769054, isbn: 0061769053,
“[Clive Barker] is a mapmaker of the mind, charting the farthest reaches of the imagination.”—Washington Post From The Books of Blood to Hellraiser to Imajica, Abarat, and Mister B. Gone, Clive Barker’s extraordinary vision knows no bounds. ...

By Jo Fletcher Books
ean: 9781623657109, isbn: 1623657105,
John Connolly raved that "few writers blend mystery and the supernatural as well as Sarah Pinborough, but there are none who do it better. Quite, quite brilliant." In this gripping sequel to the acclaimed Mayhem, author Sarah Pinborough continues the...

By Skyhorse Publishing
ean: 9781634501149, isbn: 1634501144,
Blood, gore, murder, and sin—Victorian literature’s darkest horrors await you.The penny dreadfuls were cheap nineteenth-century English stories that featured gothic, lurid, disturbing, and tantalizing content. These horror serials cost a penny per...

By Brand: Duke University Press Books
ean: 9780822316633, isbn: 0822316633,

By Orb Books
ean: 9780765320186, isbn: 0765320185,
Twenty years ago, the horror world was forever altered by the publication of Necroscope. An instant classic, Brian Lumley's astonishing feat of imagination spawned a universe which Lumley has explored and expanded through more that a baker's dozen of...

By imusti
ean: 9780857898722, isbn: 0857898728,
A spooky supernatural thriller by the author of the Merrily Watkins series Liam Defford doesn't believe in ghosts. As the head of a production company, however, he does believe in high-impact TV. On the lookout for his next idea, he hires journalist ...

By New Directions
ean: 9780811215497, isbn: 0811215490,
Eight spooky stories from the mistress of the unexpected. I aim to startle as well as please," Muriel Spark has said, and in these eight marvelous ghost stories she manages to do both to the highest degree. As with all matters in the hands of Dame Mu...

By Pan MacMillan
ean: 9781447240921, isbn: 1447240928,
A reissue of award-winning horror author Adam Nevill's first novel, perfect for fans of Stephen King and M. R. James Few believed Professor Coldwell could commune with spirits. But in Scotland's oldest university town something has emerged from the...

By Jo Fletcher Books
ean: 9781623658762, isbn: 1623658764,
"A compulsively readable story that starts as a conventional murder mystery and morphs, by degrees, into a horrifying supernatural thriller," The Guardian said of Mayhem. A virtuoso fantasy writer, Sarah Pinborough has won numerous awards including ...

By Iboo Press House
ean: 9781641812115, isbn: 1641812117,
precursor to gothic literature and science fiction genres, Frankenstein is a novel fuming with imagination as it depicts a well known horror story. Shelly's gothic fiction is written in epistolary form as a means of correspondence between the failed ...



Privacy Policy / Terms of Service
© 2018 - jenblood.net. All Rights Reserved.