Login       My Wishlist
  My Cart
$0.00 / 0 items
 
Jen Blood
Dedicated to Discovering Great Fiction
 
International Access
Global Shipping Options Available
  Our Catalog   Genre Fiction   Historical Fiction   Biographical

Of One Blood: Or, the Hidden Self: The Givens Collection


Blowout Sale! Save 68% on the Of One Blood: Or, the Hidden Self: The Givens Collection by Brand: Washington Square Press at Jen Blood. Hurry! Limited time offer. Offer valid only while supplies last. Of One Blood is the last of four novels written by Pauline Hopkins. She is considered by some to be ''the most prolific African-American woman writer


Product Description

Of One Blood is the last of four novels written by Pauline Hopkins. She is considered by some to be "the most prolific African-American woman writer and the most influential literary editor of the first decade of the twentieth century, though she is one of the lesser known literary figures of the much lauded Harlem Renaissance. Of One Blood first appeared in serial form in Colored American Magazine in the November and December 1902 and the January 1903 issues of the publication, during the four-year period that Hopkins served as its editor.
Hopkins tells the story of Reuel Briggs, a medical student who couldn't care less about being black and appreciating African history, but finds himself in Ethiopia on an archeological trip. His motive is to raid the country of lost treasures -- which he does find in the ancient land. However, he discovers much more than he bargained for: the painful truth about blood, race, and the half of his history that was never told. Hopkins wrote the novel intending, in her own words, to "raise the stigma of degradation from [the Black] race." The title, Of One Blood, refers to the biological kinship of all human beings.

Additional Information

Manufacturer:Washington Square Press
Brand:Brand: Washington Square Press
Publisher:Washington Square Press
Studio:Washington Square Press
EAN:9780743467698
Item Weight:0.55 pounds
Item Size:0.3 x 8.25 x 8.25 inches
Package Weight:0.46 pounds
Package Size:5.31 x 0.59 x 0.59 inches

Of One Blood: Or, the Hidden Self: The Givens Collection by Brand: Washington Square Press

Buy Now:
Of One Blood: Or, the Hidden Self: The Givens Collection

Brand: Brand: Washington Square Press
4.0 out of 5 stars with 9 reviews
Condition: New
Lead Time: 1 - 2 Business Days
Availability: In Stock
$16.00
$5.20
You Save: 68%


Quantity:  

 


View More In Biographical.

 


Have questions about this item, or would like to inquire about a custom or bulk order?


If you have any questions about this product by Brand: Washington Square Press, contact us by completing and submitting the form below. If you are looking for a specif part number, please include it with your message.

First Name:
Last Last:
Email Address:
Your Message:

Related Best Sellers


By Touchstone
ean: 9780743227445, isbn: 0743227441,
The #1 New York Times bestseller from “the queen of royal fiction” (USA TODAY) Philippa Gregory is a rich, compelling novel of love, sex, ambition, and intrigue surrounding the Tudor court of Henry VIII, Anne Boleyn, and the infamous Boleyn famil...

By Ondaatje, Michael
sku: 9780679767855, mpn: 9780679767855, ean: 9780679767855, isbn: 0679767851,
Bringing to life the fabulous, colorful panorama of New Orleans in the first flush of the jazz era, this book tells the story of Buddy Bolden, the first of the great trumpet players--some say the originator of jazz--who was, in any case, the genius, ...

By Penguin Classics
ean: 9780140442823, isbn: 0140442820,
Born at the height of the Heian period, the pseudonymous Lady Sarashina reveals much about the Japanese literary tradition in this haunting self-portrait. Born in 1008, Lady Sarashina was a lady-in-waiting of Heian-period Japan. Her work stands out f...

By Harper Perennial
mpn: 29927080, ean: 9780062009302, isbn: 0062009303,
"Magical." -Washington Post Book World"The best dramatization of a great thinker’s thought since Sartre’s The Freud Scenario." -Chicago TribuneFrom renowned psychiatrist Irvin D. Yalom, acclaimed author of The Schopenhauer Cure and Love’s Execu...

By Ignatius Press
ean: 9780898702682, isbn: 0898702682,
Very few people know that Mark Twain (Samuel Clemens) wrote a major work on Joan of Arc. Still fewer know that he considered it not only his most important but also his best work. He spent twelve years in research and many months in France doing arch...

By Farrar Straus Giroux
mpn: 9780374529260, ean: 9780374529260, isbn: 0374529264,
Both an exploration of character and a reflection on the meaning of history, Memoirs of Hadrian has received international acclaim since its first publication in France in 1951. In it, Marguerite Yourcenar reimagines the Emperor Hadrian's arduous boy...

By Blackstone Publishing
ean: 9781455137114, isbn: 1455137111,
An incredible story of dangerous and hidden friendships, ambition, betrayal, and sacrifice. The year is 1739. Eliza Lucas is sixteen years old when her father leaves her in charge of their family's three plantations in rural South Carolina and then p...

By Ballantine Books
ean: 9780399177668, isbn: 0399177663,
For readers of Paula McLain, Nancy Horan, and Melanie Benjamin, this captivating novel is inspired by a little-known interlude in the artist’s life.“A tasty blend of romance, mystery, and French cooking.”—Margaret Atwood, via Twitter The Fren...

By Ballantine Books
ean: 9780345434074, isbn: 0345434072,
"To quietly persevere in storing up what is learned, to continue studying without respite, to instruct others without growing weary--is this not me?"--ConfuciusConfucius is recognized as China's first and greatest teacher, and his ideas have been the...

By Random House Trade
ean: 9780812981865, isbn: 0812981863,
NATIONAL BESTSELLER • In a dazzling work of historical fiction in the vein of Nancy Horan’s Loving Frank, Dawn Tripp brings to life Georgia O’Keeffe, her love affair with photographer Alfred Stieglitz, and her quest to become an independent art...



Privacy Policy / Terms of Service
© 2018 - jenblood.net. All Rights Reserved.