Login       My Wishlist
  My Cart
$0.00 / 0 items
 
Jen Blood
Dedicated to Discovering Great Fiction
 
International Access
Global Shipping Options Available
  Our Catalog   Women's Fiction   Friendship

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society


Blowout Sale! Save 72% on the The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Dial Press at Jen Blood. MPN: 9780385341004. Hurry! Limited time offer. Offer valid only while supplies last. #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NOW A NETFLIX FILM • A remarkable tale of the island of Guernsey during the German Occupation, and of a society


Product Description

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NOW A NETFLIX FILM • A remarkable tale of the island of Guernsey during the German Occupation, and of a society as extraordinary as its name.

“Treat yourself to this book, please—I can’t recommend it highly enough.”—Elizabeth Gilbert, author of Eat, Pray, Love

“I wonder how the book got to Guernsey? Perhaps there is some sort of secret homing instinct in books that brings them to their perfect readers.” January 1946: London is emerging from the shadow of the Second World War, and writer Juliet Ashton is looking for her next book subject. Who could imagine that she would find it in a letter from a man she’s never met, a native of the island of Guernsey, who has come across her name written inside a book by Charles Lamb. . . .

As Juliet and her new correspondent exchange letters, Juliet is drawn into the world of this man and his friends—and what a wonderfully eccentric world it is. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society—born as a spur-of-the-moment alibi when its members were discovered breaking curfew by the Germans occupying their island—boasts a charming, funny, deeply human cast of characters, from pig farmers to phrenologists, literature lovers all.

Juliet begins a remarkable correspondence with the society’s members, learning about their island, their taste in books, and the impact the recent German occupation has had on their lives. Captivated by their stories, she sets sail for Guernsey, and what she finds will change her forever.

Written with warmth and humor as a series of letters, this novel is a celebration of the written word in all its guises and of finding connection in the most surprising ways.

Praise for The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society

“A jewel . . . Poignant and keenly observed, Guernsey is a small masterpiece about love, war, and the immeasurable sustenance to be found in good books and good friends.”People

“A book-lover’s delight, an implicit and sometimes explicit paean to all things literary.”Chicago Sun-Times

“A sparkling epistolary novel radiating wit, lightly worn erudition and written with great assurance and aplomb.”The Sunday Times (London)

“Cooked perfectly à point: subtle and elegant in flavour, yet emotionally satisfying to the finish.”The Times (London)

Additional Information

Manufacturer:Dial Press
Brand:Dial Press
Part Number:9780385341004
Publisher:Dial Press
Studio:Dial Press
MPN:9780385341004
EAN:9780385341004
Item Weight:0.4 pounds
Item Size:0.66 x 8 x 8 inches
Package Weight:0.5 pounds
Package Size:5.25 x 0.5 x 0.5 inches

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Dial Press

Buy Now:
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

Brand: Dial Press
4.6 out of 5 stars with 10 reviews
Condition: New
Lead Time: 1 - 2 Business Days
Availability: In Stock
$17.00
$4.86
You Save: 71%


Quantity:  

 


View More In Friendship.

 


Have questions about this item, or would like to inquire about a custom or bulk order?


If you have any questions about this product by Dial Press, contact us by completing and submitting the form below. If you are looking for a specif part number, please include it with your message.

First Name:
Last Last:
Email Address:
Your Message:

Related Best Sellers


By Random House
ean: 9780525509509, isbn: 052550950X,
A delightful novel about surprising friendships, community, and the way small acts of kindness can change a life, from the bestselling author of The Story of Arthur Truluv   Lucille Howard is getting on in years, but she stays busy. Thanks to the in...

By Broadway Books
mpn: 980112361, ean: 9780451495594, isbn: 0451495594,
NATIONAL BESTSELLERFrom the New York Times and internationally bestselling author of The Little Paris Bookshop, an extraordinary novel about self-discovery and new beginnings.   Marianne is stuck in a loveless, unhappy marriage.  After forty-one...

By WaterBrook
ean: 9780735291010, isbn: 0735291012,
A New York Times best-selling author releases her first southern novel, a Steel Magnolias-meets-Sweet Home Alabama story set on St. Simons Island.When an unthinkable loss sends Tara Abbott's life spiraling out of control, she journeys from North Caro...

By Kensington Publishing Corporation
ean: 9781496714503, isbn: 1496714504,
Learning that a deceased former client's young prodigy son is being increasingly subjected to danger by greedy caregivers, Isabelle summons the Sisterhood to protect the boy and search for one of their own who has gone missing....

By Touchstone
ean: 9781501196508, isbn: 1501196502,
A BOOK OF THE MONTH CLUB PICK AN INDIE NEXT PICK Jojo Moyes meets Eleanor Oliphant in Goodbye, Paris, an utterly charming novel that proves that sometimes you have to break your heart to make it whole.Grace once had the beginnings of a promising musi...

By Riverhead Books
ean: 9780735214767, isbn: 073521476X,
"Pitch-perfect." —People"You won’t be able to quit these characters." —goopThe addictive novel about four young friends navigating the cutthroat world of classical music and their complex relationships with each other, as ambition, passion, a...

By Delacorte Press
mpn: 980078663, ean: 9781101884003, isbn: 1101884002,
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • From Danielle Steel comes the gripping story of a woman who loses everything—her husband, her home, her sense of self and safety, and her freedom. Sydney Wells’s perfect life with her wealthy, devoted husband vanishe...

By Doubleday
ean: 9780385543521, isbn: 0385543522,
"Social Creature is a wicked original with echoes of the greats (Patricia Highsmith, Gillian Flynn)." —Janet Maslin, The New York TimesFor readers of Gillian Flynn and Donna Tartt, a dark, propulsive and addictive debut thriller, splashed with all ...

By Ballantine Books
ean: 9781524798710, isbn: 1524798711,
“I dare you to read this novel and not fall in love with Arthur Truluv. His story will make you laugh and cry, and will show you a love that never ends, and what it means to be truly human.”—Fannie FlaggAn emotionally powerful novel about three...

By Hogarth
ean: 9780451499066, isbn: 0451499069,
“Sharp, funny, thought-provoking . . . a really great portrait of two young women as they’re figuring out how to be adults.”– Celeste Ng, "Late Night with Seth Meyers Podcast" Winner of the 2017 Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year Frances...



Privacy Policy / Terms of Service
© 2018 - jenblood.net. All Rights Reserved.