Login       My Wishlist
  My Cart
$0.00 / 0 items
 
Jen Blood
Dedicated to Discovering Great Fiction
 
International Access
Global Shipping Options Available
  Our Catalog   Poetry   Ancient, Classical & Medieval

Ancient, Classical & Medieval - 121 - Blowout Sale! Save up to 52%


Blowout Sale! Up to 52% off on Ancient, Classical & Medieval at Jen Blood. Top brands include Penguin USA (P), W. W. Norton & Company, Brand: Focus Publishing, Indiana University Press, Chaucer, Geoffrey/ Kolve, V. A./ Olson, Glending, Oxford University Press, imusti, Bolchazy Carducci Pub, Penguin Classics, Brave Writer, University of Texas Press, Dante Alighieri/ Esolen, Anthony M. (TRN)/ Dore, Gustave (ILT), DK, Broadview Press, Penguin Books, & Dante Alighieri/ Hollander, Robert (TRN)/ Hollander, Jean (TRN). Hurry! Limited time offers. Offers valid only while supplies last.



Odyssey
Odyssey
By Penguin USA (P)
In Stock
$20.02

ean: 9780140445299, isbn: 0140445293,

In the myths and legends that are magnificently retold here, Fagles has captured the energy and poetry of Homer's original in a bold, contemporary idiom, and given readers an "Odyssey" to read aloud, to savor, and to treasure for its sheer lyrical ma...


Dream Visions and Other Poems (Norton Critical Editions)
Dream Visions and Other Poems (Norton Critical Editions)
By W. W. Norton & Company
In Stock
$16.67

ean: 9780393925883, isbn: 0393925889,

This Norton Critical Edition presents Chaucer’s four dream visions and selected shorter poems and is suitable for both beginning and advanced students. The texts are extensively glossed and are accompanied by individual introductions and explanator...


Theogony & Works and Days (Focus Classical Library)
Theogony & Works and Days (Focus Classical Library)
By Brand: Focus Publishing
In Stock
$14.95
$9.42
You Save: 37%

ean: 9781585102884, isbn: 1585102881,

4.6 out of 5 stars with 52 reviews
Greek poet Hesiod took many lines of thought and knowledge - myth, fable, personal experience, practical understanding - and wove them into one great whole. He did as much with the origins of the Greek gods in the Theogony, and then did the same in c...


Metamorphoses
Metamorphoses
By Indiana University Press
In Stock
$52.48

ean: 9780253200013, isbn: 0253200016,

The Metamorphoses of Ovid offers to the modern world such a key to the literary and religious culture of the ancients that it becomes an important event when at last a good poet comes up with a translation into English verse." ―John Crowe Ransom......


The Canterbury Tales: Fifteen Tales and the General Prologue (Norton Critical Editions)
The Canterbury Tales: Fifteen Tales and the General Prologue (Norton Critical Editions)
By Chaucer, Geoffrey/ Kolve, V. A./ Olson, Glending
In Stock
$51.38

mpn: 9780393925876, ean: 9780393925876, isbn: 0393925870,

This Norton Critical Edition includes the most admired of Chaucer’s Canterbury Tales. Each is presented in the original language, with normalized spelling and substantial annotations for modern readers. Among the new added to the Second Edition are...


Homer's Iliad and Odyssey: The Essential Books
Homer's Iliad and Odyssey: The Essential Books
By Oxford University Press
In Stock
$19.95
$17.81
You Save: 11%

ean: 9780199394074, isbn: 0199394075,

4.1 out of 5 stars with 19 reviews
Renowned Homer scholar Barry B. Powell has already given the world powerful new translations of the Iliad and the Odyssey. Now his Homer's Iliad and Odyssey: The Essential Books brings together his translations of the most important books and passage...


On the Nature of the Universe (Oxford World's Classics)
On the Nature of the Universe (Oxford World's Classics)
By imusti
In Stock
$13.95
$8.56
You Save: 39%

ean: 9780199555147, isbn: 0199555141,

4.9 out of 5 stars with 12 reviews
This is a new verse translation of Lucretius's only known work, a didactic poem written in six books of hexameters. Melville's particularly literal translation of the use of metaphor is especially helpful to those looking at the text from a scientifi...


Ovid: Amores Metamorphoses (Annotated Collection) (English and Latin Edition)
Ovid: Amores Metamorphoses (Annotated Collection) (English and Latin Edition)
By Bolchazy Carducci Pub
In Stock
$29.00

ean: 9780865167841, isbn: 0865167842,

This bestseller now features 277 more lines of Ovid! The updated version includes Metamorphoses I.1-88 and X.1-85 and Amores 2.19 and 3.12. The source of Ovid s enduring appeal is obvious: his Amores are written with the wit and humor and sometimes t...


Sappho
Sappho
By imusti
In Stock
$17.95
$16.08
You Save: 10%

mpn: 19010893, ean: 9780520272934, isbn: 0520272935,

4.1 out of 5 stars with 34 reviews
These hundred poems and fragments constitute virtually all of Sappho that survives and effectively bring to life the woman whom the Greeks consider to be their greatest lyric poet. Mary Barnard's translations are lean, incisive, direct―the best eve...


The Nature of Things (Penguin Classics)
The Nature of Things (Penguin Classics)
By Penguin Classics
In Stock
$16.00
$7.93
You Save: 50%

mpn: 9780140447965, ean: 9780140447965, isbn: 0140447962,

4.2 out of 5 stars with 18 reviews
The acclaimed new translation of the classic poem at the heart of Stephen Greenblatt’s The SwerveLucretius' poem On the Nature of Things combines a scientific and philosophical treatise with some of the greatest poetry ever written. With intense mo...


Aeneid (Oxford World's Classics)
Aeneid (Oxford World's Classics)
By imusti
SKU: #AZ343
In Stock
$15.95
$7.64
You Save: 52%

sku: AZ343, ean: 9780199231959, isbn: 0199231958,

4.5 out of 5 stars with 44 reviews
Frederick Ahl's new translation captures the excitement, poetic energy, and intellectual force of the original in a way that has never been done before. Ahl has used a version of Virgil's ancient hexameter, a swift-moving six-beat line varying betwee...


Poetry Teatime Companion: A Brave Writer Sampler of British and American Poems
Poetry Teatime Companion: A Brave Writer Sampler of British and American Poems
By Brave Writer
In Stock
$26.95
$25.01
You Save: 7%

ean: 9780996242776, isbn: 0996242775,

4.9 out of 5 stars with 59 reviews
Poetry Teatime pairs tea and treats with poetry reading—anywhere from the kitchen table to a picnic table, by the seaside or on top of a mountain. Families around the world are indulging in this pleasurable, meaningful shared experience. The Poetry...


The Poetic Edda
The Poetic Edda
By University of Texas Press
In Stock
$24.95
$18.82
You Save: 25%

mpn: 9780292764996, ean: 9780292764996, isbn: 0292764995,

4.9 out of 5 stars with 14 reviews
The Poetic Edda comprises a treasure trove of mythic and spiritual verse holding an important place in Nordic culture, literature, and heritage. Its tales of strife and death form a repository, in poetic form, of Norse mythology and heroic lore, embo...


The Song of the Cid (Penguin Classics) A Dual-Language Edition with Parallel Text
The Song of the Cid (Penguin Classics) A Dual-Language Edition with Parallel Text
By Penguin Classics
In Stock
$18.00
$11.78
You Save: 35%

ean: 9780143105657, isbn: 0143105655,

4.6 out of 5 stars with 20 reviews
From a legendary translator: a magnificent new rendering of Spain's national epicVenture into the heart of Islamic Spain in this vibrant, rollicking new translation of The Song of the Cid, the only surviving epic from medieval Spain. Banished from th...


Paradise (The Divine Comedy)
Paradise (The Divine Comedy)
By Dante Alighieri/ Esolen, Anthony M. (TRN)/ Dore, Gustave (ILT)
In Stock
$15.00
$12.00
You Save: 20%

mpn: 9780812977264, ean: 9780812977264, isbn: 0812977262,

4.4 out of 5 stars with 12 reviews
“If there is any justice in the world of books, [Esolen’s] will be the standard Dante . . . for some time to come.”–Robert Royal, CrisisIn this, the concluding volume of The Divine Comedy, Dante ascends from the devastation of the Inferno and...


The Illustrated Mahabharata: The Definitive Guide to India s Greatest Epic
The Illustrated Mahabharata: The Definitive Guide to India s Greatest Epic
By DK
In Stock
$50.00
$31.45
You Save: 37%

ean: 9781465462916, isbn: 1465462910,

4.2 out of 5 stars with 46 reviews
An illustrated guide to India's greatest epic, which has shaped Indian thought for over 3,000 years, with stories from all 18 chapters, the Bhagavad Gita, and the Harivamsa.The Illustrated Mahabharata brings the world's longest epic to life. With mor...


Beowulf - Second Edition (Broadview Editions)
Beowulf - Second Edition (Broadview Editions)
By Broadview Press
In Stock
$14.95

mpn: illustrations, ean: 9781554810642, isbn: 1554810647,

R.M. Liuzza’s translation of Beowulf, first published by Broadview in 1999, has been widely praised for its accuracy and beauty. The translation is accompanied in this edition by genealogical charts, historical summaries, and a glossary of proper n...


The Selected Canterbury Tales: A New Verse Translation
The Selected Canterbury Tales: A New Verse Translation
By W. W. Norton & Company
In Stock
$18.95
$12.38
You Save: 35%

ean: 9780393341782, isbn: 039334178X,

4.0 out of 5 stars with 18 reviews
"A truly remarkable achievement." ―Barry Unsworth In the tradition of Seamus Heaney’s Beowulf and Marie Borroff’s Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, Sheila Fisher’s The Selected Canterbury Tales is a vivid, lively, and readable translation of t...


A Year with Hafiz: Daily Contemplations
A Year with Hafiz: Daily Contemplations
By Penguin Books
In Stock
$21.00
$14.39
You Save: 31%

ean: 9780143117544, isbn: 0143117548,

4.5 out of 5 stars with 11 reviews
Daniel Ladinsky’s stunning interpretations of 365 soul-nurturing poems—one for each day of the year—by treasured Persian lyric poet Hafiz The poems of Hafiz are masterpieces of sacred poetry that nurture the heart, soul, and mind. With learned ...


Paradiso
Paradiso
By Dante Alighieri/ Hollander, Robert (TRN)/ Hollander, Jean (TRN)
In Stock
$19.95
$13.74
You Save: 31%

mpn: 9781400031153, ean: 9781400031153, isbn: 140003115X,

4.2 out of 5 stars with 47 reviews
With his journeys through Hell and Purgatory complete, Dante is at last led by his beloved Beatrice to Paradise. Where his experiences in the Inferno and Purgatorio were arduous and harrowing, this is a journey of comfort, revelation, and, above all,...



Viewing Page 1 of 4

View more products in Poetry.
Feel free to Browse Our Catalog.



Privacy Policy / Terms of Service
© 2018 - jenblood.net. All Rights Reserved.